Skip to main content

Previous News Articles

The Florida Catholic

Diocese celebrates deacons

On Aug. 10, the feast of St. Lawrence, patron of deacons, the permanent deacons of the Diocese of Palm Beach gathered to renew their diaconal vows and celebrate milestone years of service. The deacons and their wives enjoyed Mass at the Cathedral of St. Ignatius Loyola, followed by a special dinner in the parish Family Life Center.

Marking 15 years are Deacon Joe O’Connell, Deacon William Ferguson, Deacon Miguel Muñoz, Deacon Stephen Scienzo and Deacon Martin Serraes. With 10 years are Deacon Dennis Beauregard, Deacon Pedro Del Valle, Deacon Serge Dube and Deacon Henry Farinas, and celebrating five years are Deacon Martin Sandigo and Deacon David Zanotelli.

Bishop Gerald M. Barbarito is set to ordain two new permanent deacons for the diocese — Sandi Martinez and Benny Matos — at 11 a.m. Saturday, Sept. 9, at the cathedral.